Andrej Babis

Matt Atlas

Czech Republic On Russian List Of ‘Unfriendly States’

Russia has published a new official list of “unfriendly states” featuring just two countries – Czechia and the US.

According to the decree signed by Russian President Vladimir Putin, the Czech diplomatic mission in Russia can employ a maximum of 19 Russian staff.

The EU has already expressed full solidarity with Czechia and slammed Russia for such a move.

“This Decree is incompatible with the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations of 1961 with regard to the duties of the host state to secure the functioning of diplomatic missions,“ the High Representative declared in a statement.

“We call on Russia to review its decision, to avoid a further deterioration of our relationship that is already under strain. The EU will continue to coordinate its position with its partners,” the statement added.

Czechia has been put on the “unfriendly states” list after it blamed Russian agents for involvement in the Czech ammunition deposit blast that took place in 2014, leaving two people dead. Since then, Czechia and Russia have been in a diplomatic row.

Czech Prime Minister Andrej Babiš said he wants to raise this issue at the European Council summit next week. “We count on you to have a decisive European Council later this month to show that the EU is united and strong,“ he said.